Staying marathon focused

This time around I have to say, training has been a real challenge. Usually I don’t have a problem pulling myself out of bed to run the necessary distances to stay on track for marathon training; but, I have to say it’s been a real struggle this week. With moving, working 6 days a week and marathon training, I have been feeling exhausted!

excited

Everyone has those days where you wake up and think, “No way am I getting out of bed right now!” You reset your alarm for an hour later, pull the covers back over your head and never fully get back to sleep. I have been feeling that way each time this week that my alarm has gone off at 6 am, I can tell it’s still dark outside. However, I have persevered and thrown the covers off myself to feel the cold air rush over my body and wake me up, there’s no point in staying in bed once you have done that because everyone knows you won’t really get back to sleep.

Staying focused is hard but so important especially when you are training for a run. It takes energy and dedication to wake up at 6 am on a Saturday to pound the pavement for 20kms +. It takes time to psych yourself up and make your run playlist. It takes effort to fuel your body for optimum performance. But in the end it’s worth it.

Here are 3 things I do to stay marathon focused :

write it

1. Write/think about it. Each night I take the time to write or think about what I did to keep myself on track that day. I’ll write down the one meal that made me feel great, or the workout I did that made me sweaty, tired and happy!

bed

2. Get into bed early. Nothing is worse than waking up to an alarm that you feel like you JUST set. Getting a good night’s sleep is so important for recharging your batteries. Start small and make a deal with yourself to get into bed 10 minutes earlier than normal. Plan on reading before you turn out the lights so your eyes are tired and you are ready for bed.

morning treat

Dollop of nutella on my porridge for a morning treat!

3. Treat yourself. I know that fuelling your body is important for optimal results, but let’s face it you’re burning a lot of calories each week so don’t be afraid to give into a few cravings, I know I do. Go on, you deserve it!

Happy running!

Leave a Reply

