Pizza to fuel your run

instagram shit

Yay! It’s almost the weekend, which means that it’s time to let your hair down and live a little, unless of course you have a 22km long run to complete on Saturday or Sunday. Not only do I have my long run, but I also have to move which as everyone who has moved before knows is both exciting and also a pain in the butt. So, running, moving and finally working which means I have one day to pack everything up and figure out how to move a fridge without it leaking everywhere. With all of these things going on it’s sometimes hard to find the time to make something to eat, but I’m hell bent on taking some time out to get in the kitchen and make something I love. PIZZA!!! Everyone thinks pizza has to be unhealthy with tons of cheese and meat, but I like to add tons of veggie to my pizza and make the dough myself so I know exactly what I am eating.

Here is my recipe for the perfect pizza dough that you don’t need to let rise!

pizza dough

Ingredients

– 1 package dry yeast (2-3 tsp)

– 1 tsp sugar

– 1 cup of warm water

– 2 1/2 cups self raising flour

– 3 tablespoons olive oil

– 2 tsp rock salt

finished pizza

Method

Heat oven to 400 degrees. Boil water in a kettle and allow to sit until warm.  Put yeast and sugar in a bowl and pour in warm water. Allow the mixture to stand for 5-10 minutes. Add flour 1/2 a cup at a time until all the flour is mixed in. Add 2 tablespoons of olive oil to dough mixture, use the rest of the oil to grease the pizza pan. Mix everything together and form dough into a ball. Roll dough out on a floured surface and place in pizza pan. Add sauce, toppings and cheese. Bake for 15 -20 minutes, rotating the pizza halfway through, then turn the oven on grill for 2 minutes. Serve with a side salad and enjoy!

baked pizza

Happy running!

Leave a Reply

