I love food!

 cocnut rice

I know this seems like a weird title for a post, but it’s true. I think all my friends and family members can attest to my love of food. I believe that food is fuel and I make the effort to make good food choices when I have my meals. But, I will be honest, I’m a pub food junky. I am the queen of nacho, burger and pizza making. I bake some tasty yam fries and can whip up a mean batch of spicy wings. I also love to bake, my specialty are chocolate chip cookies which are always a hit ( you’ll see the recipe up on the blog shortly I’m sure). I’m also one of those people who will never throw food away; expired yogurt, chicken in the fridge for a few days, leftover meals from the weekend, I’ll eat it and yes I have an iron stomach.

A few years ago the “paleo” diet hit the headlines, and the only thing I could think about was, “But what about the carbs?!” Not only do I like pub food, but carbs were a staple in my diet! As a runner I was a strong believer that pasta and carb loading before long runs and races were the only way to get lasting energy. I thought about changing my diet radically and trying out the whole paleo lifestyle, last year I even tried the whole 30 to see how my body would react. After the 30 days of eating clean I felt good, I had lots of energy, I slept like a baby, and I didn’t have any cravings! I thought I could continue it forever, but alas, I came to the conclusion that life is too short and you should eat what makes you feel good, what makes you move fast and most importantly what makes you feel happy! Chocolate, chocolate makes me really really happy 🙂

coconuts

I am always looking for new recipes to make and I love coming up with my own concoctions in the kitchen. I have adopted a few new paleo/primal recipes into my repertoire that are amazing and that I look forward to making each week, including this delicious coconut cauliflower rice inspired by the recipe from the PaleOMG website, I added a bit more coconut milk and the chilis for some kick. This recipe is sure to keep everyone coming back for more!

http://paleomg.com/pan-seared-mahi-mahi-over-sticky-coconut-rice-with-mango-salsa/

Ingredients

– 3 tablespoons coconut oil

– 1 head of cauliflower

– 1 cup coconut milk ( I think this adds more coconut flavour)

– salt and pepper to taste

– pinch of chili flakes to add heat

– 1/4 cup chopped roasted almonds

Method

Break cauliflower into pieces and pulse in blender or food processor until fine. Melt coconut oil in pot and add cauliflower then add coconut milk. Stir for about 5 minutes, add salt and pepper to taste. Turn the heat off and allow to sit for 5 minutes.  Roast almonds on medium heat until brown. Remove from heat and chop once they are cool. Add chilis to cauliflower and mix. Serve and top with chopped almonds. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

